2000 RR 4.6 overheating?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kendrie

Reaction score
Hello all;
I'm a newbie to the forumn, but I've had a few Rovers over the years. I currently have an intermittant overheat problem on a 2000 4.6. The first time it happened, I took it to the shop right away. They replaced the T-stat and heater hoses and sent m on my way. Since then, it will periodically overheat, all at once the temp gage buries itself in the red, and I get a fault code on the AC display (the triangle with the exclamation point). After a short engine off cool down, fault code goes away and it might not overheat again for two weeks. It will overheat with the AC on or off. I've noticed though that the car smells like coolant after you get out of it, and occassionally you get a whiff of it in the cabin even if it doesn't boil over. I was going to have my mechanic flow test it, but he's already talking about head gasket. I'm not convinced. Any ideas?
Thanks

N

nedkelly

Hello all;
I'm a newbie to the forumn, but I've had a few Rovers over the years. I currently have an intermittant overheat problem on a 2000 4.6. The first time it happened, I took it to the shop right away. They replaced the T-stat and heater hoses and sent m on my way. Since then, it will periodically overheat, all at once the temp gage buries itself in the red, and I get a fault code on the AC display (the triangle with the exclamation point). After a short engine off cool down, fault code goes away and it might not overheat again for two weeks. It will overheat with the AC on or off. I've noticed though that the car smells like coolant after you get out of it, and occassionally you get a whiff of it in the cabin even if it doesn't boil over. I was going to have my mechanic flow test it, but he's already talking about head gasket. I'm not convinced. Any ideas?